Why should the customer experience become the pillar of your digital strategy?

Today, and even more so since Covid-19 and its repeated confinements, companies are forcefully turning to digital solutions to extend their services and offer a quality experience to their customers.

Consumers' habits have evolved as well as their expectations. They are increasingly using digital tools to find out about a product or a service, to buy it, to compare offers and to find out more about the company or the brand that offers it.

But what interests them even more than the product itself is the experience around the act of purchase, whether it is digital or not. Let's take a look at the company Alan, which is shaking up the insurance codes by making the act of subscribing to and monitoring one's health coverage almost pleasant! The company has understood that in order to gain market share, the user experience must be clear, fun and of course provide a quality service.

Presentation of Alan Insurance on their website

The important thing is as much the product itself as the universe to which it gives access. For this it is essential to know your customer perfectly and to place him at the center of each of your decisions in terms of digital strategy. A happy customer who adheres to your environment is a loyal customer who will recommend you and bring you other customers.

But how do you build a digital environment that is truly focused on the experience your customer expects? Discover, in the following article, our advice and the actions we implement for our services and the projects we carry out.

What is a digital strategy?

The digital strategy gathers all the actions deployed by a company to reach its target audience. To do so, it uses communication and marketing tools generally related to the web and new technologies. Some examples :

  • Website
  • Content marketing
  • Social networks
  • Email marketing
  • SEO
  • SEA
  • Web analysis (web analytics)
  • Display advertising and affiliation

The objective of a digital strategy differs from one company to another. It can be: 

  • To improve its notoriety.
  • To gain visibility.
  • Attract qualified leads.
  • Increase sales and revenue.
  • To increase the traffic of its website, etc

What is the difference between customer experience (CX) and user experience (UX)?

We often get lost between the concepts of CX and UX. They are indeed close but do not represent the same thing.

In the world of a product or service, the user experience (UX) is part of a more global environment that is the customer experience (CX). Indeed, a customer is necessarily a user, while a user is not always a customer.

The user experience thus represents the interaction of a customer with a finished product or service.

The objective of UX is to ensure that the company or brand meets a specific need by taking into account the understanding of the (product/service), functionality, navigation, design and ergonomics.

The customer experience (CX) is the result of all positive or negative encounters and interactions of the customer with a product/service and its company/brand from the first to the last contact.

Our 7 tips to make the user experience the pillar of your digital strategy: 

1 - Segment your clientele and know your target client well, the Persona

The persona in marketing is the detailed profile of your target customer. There can be many, but it is generally recommended to define the 3 or 4 most important profiles. They should, by themselves, represent more than 90% of your generated revenue.

This is the first step to make your digital project a success.

Before you even think about your product, its price, your website or anything else, you need to know who you want to sell it to. Who is the person you want to sell to? What are their needs? Their fears? What are their obstacles? And so on.

Studying your Persona will give you the key information to design a well-targeted digital strategy that will bear fruit.

Example of a Persona form. - Source : Freepik.com

Your Persona sheets must continuously accompany you in your strategy and business plan decisions.

2 - Define SMART objectives

Once the profile of your customers is defined, you must set precise objectives. To do this, we recommend that you use the SMART method: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Time-bound.

These objectives represent the ambitions and expectations of your company regarding your turnover, your notoriety, your brand image, etc. These are measurable criteria that must always be thought of for your ideal clientele defined above.

3 - Achieve a precise and quantified digital customer journey

Studying your customers' journey when they interact with your products/services will allow you to better understand them and their expectations.

Use marketing tools to analyze your customers' behavior at every stage, from the first contact to the last. For example: the bounce rate on your website, the topics that work best on your social networks, your most visited site pages, the number of appointments made with a sales page, etc.

This way, you can create a digital customer journey that is designed specifically for your customers and that meets their exact expectations. This journey should detail all the steps your customer should go through and how your company should respond to their interactions.

Finally, it is also important to quantify each step of your journey. This will allow you to deepen your analysis, to evolve the digital experience of your product/service and also to prioritize your tasks and see your progress.

4 - Take care of your e-reputation

E-reputation is your digital identity, the results your customers will find when they search for your company/brand name or product/service on the Internet.

The consumer's first reflex today, before buying a product, is to search for it on search engines or social networks.

In this case, three scenarios are possible:

  1. You do not exist on the web, so he will look for your competitors.
  2. He finds your brand, but your reputation is bad and that drives him away.
  3. He finds your business, likes your content, follows you on the networks and becomes a customer afterwards.

The objective is of course to aim for the third scenario and for that you will need to work on your communication on social networks, build an attractive and efficient website, and pay attention to the reviews left by your customers.

5 - Work on ergonomics and Responsive

Mock-up du site de restauration Lima Empanadas sur ordinateur portable et smartphone
Example: the merchant site Lima Empanadas available on all screen sizes.

In 2021, 55.35% of the world's internet traffic was coming from mobile devices, compared to 43% for computers. This means that it is not possible to neglect mobile in your digital strategy.

By basing your strategies on customer experience, you understand that you have an obligation to make it easy for your customers to navigate whatever tool they are using: a computer screen, a tablet or a mobile.

57% of consumers say they would not recommend a company with a poorly designed website. We therefore advise you to pay attention to the architecture of your website, that it is adaptable not only to different browsers, but also to different platforms and screen sizes. It must be ergonomic, fluid and easy to navigate.

This will also play an important role in your referencing, since search engines, particularly appreciate sites adapted to all screens (responsive). With a non-responsive site it will be complicated to be well referenced and well ranked in the search results.

6 - Customize your products/services

A good study of your Personas, allows you to know more about your customers. Understanding their needs, their habits, their desires... will allow you to design personalized digital tools. All the data collected on your users will allow this personalization.

For example, in the context of an online grocery store, you could automatically generate a newsletter to women over 35 interested in tea/tea related products, with content listing the latest arrivals. Or you could automatically generate a coupon for your customers' birthday.

A customer who receives a personalized product or service feels privileged and will become more attached to your brand.

7 - Adopt self-care

Today, many consumers appreciate the autonomy provided by web tools and prefer to find information by themselves without having to go through a customer service. This avoids long waiting times and allows to cross-reference information for more reliability.

It is also a good opportunity for companies, as it allows them to reduce the cost of their customer support and saves them time that they can spend on other issues.

To make this possible, you need to provide your customers with all the information they will need across all the marketing channels you use.

For example, you can add an FAQ or a Chatbot on your website or mobile app. It is also essential to bring information on your other web spaces: Google My Business listing, Facebook page, Instagram account...

To conclude

At the end of 2021, developing a digital strategy is no longer an option. If you want to stay strong in your market and grow your business, you'd better strengthen your digital tools to meet your customers' expectations.

For an unbeatable strategy and to keep your customers loyal, you must take the time to understand them, to know their habits, their needs and to define precise profiles (your personas). This is how you will be able to design useful and efficient digital supports (online store, emailing campaign, user interface...).

You want to digitalize your company? Let's discuss it.

Pourquoi l’expérience client doit devenir le pilier de votre stratégie digitale ?

Aujourd’hui, et d’autant plus depuis la Covid-19 et ses confinements à répétition, les entreprises s’orientent avec force vers des solutions digitales pour étendre leurs services et proposer une expérience de qualité à leurs clients.

Les habitudes des consommateurs ont évolué ainsi que leurs attentes. Ils utilisent de plus en plus les outils numériques pour se renseigner sur un produit, un service, l’acheter, comparer les offres et se documenter sur l’entreprise ou la marque qui le propose.

Mais ce qui les intéresse encore plus que le produit lui-même c’est l’expérience autour de l’acte d’achat, qu’elle soit digitale ou non. Jetons par exemple un œil sur l’entreprise Alan, qui bouscule les codes de l’assurance en rendant l’acte de souscription et de suivi de sa couverture santé presque agréable ! L’entreprise l’a bien compris, pour saisir des parts de marché, il faut rendre le parcours utilisateur limpide, ludique et bien entendu fournir un service de qualité.

Présentation de l’assurance Alan sur leur site web

L’important est tout autant le produit en lui-même que l’univers auquel il donne accès. Pour cela il est essentiel de connaitre parfaitement votre client et de le placer au centre de chacune de vos décision en terme de stratégie digitale. Un client heureux et qui adhère à votre environnement, est un client fidèle qui vous recommandera et qui vous apportera d’autres clients.

Mais comment construire un environnement numérique qui soit vraiment centré sur l’expérience attendue par votre client ? Découvrez, dans la suite de cet article, nos conseils et les actions que nous mettons en place pour nos services et les projets que nous réalisons.

Qu’est ce qu’une stratégie digitale ?

La stratégie digitale regroupe l’ensemble des actions déployées par une entreprise afin d’atteindre son public cible. Pour cela elle utilise des outils de communication et de marketing généralement rattachés au web et aux nouvelles technologies. Quelques exemples :

  • Site web
  • Marketing du contenu
  • Réseaux sociaux
  • Email marketing
  • SEO
  • SEA
  • Web analyse (web analytics)
  • Publicité display et affiliation

L’objectif d’une stratégie digitale diffère d’une entreprise à une autre. Il peut s’agir : 

  • D’améliorer sa notoriété.
  • De gagner en visibilité.
  • D’attirer des prospects qualifiés.
  • D’augmenter ses ventes et son chiffre d’affaires.
  • D’augmenter le trafic de son site web, etc

Quelle différence entre expérience client (CX) et expérience utilisateur (UX) ?

On se perd souvent entre les concepts de CX et d’UX. Ils sont effectivement proches mais ne représentent pas la même chose.

Dans l’univers d’un produit ou d’un service, l’expérience utilisateur (UX) fait partie d’un environnement plus global qui est l’expérience client (CX). Effectivement, un client est forcément un utilisateur, alors qu’un utilisateur n’est pas toujours un client.

L’expérience utilisateur représente ainsi l’interaction d’un client avec un produit ou un service fini.

L’objectif de l’UX est de s’assurer que l’entreprise ou la marque répond à un besoin spécifique en prenant en compte la compréhension du (produit/service), les fonctionnalités, la navigation, le design et l’ergonomie.

L’expérience client (CX) est le fruit de toutes les rencontres et interactions positives ou négatives du client avec un produit/service et son entreprise/marque du premier au dernier contact.

Nos 7 conseils pour faire de l’expérience utilisateur le pilier de votre stratégie digitale : 

1 – Segmenter sa clientèle et bien connaître son client cible, le Persona

Le persona en marketing est le profil détaillé de votre client cible. Il peut y en avoir de nombreux mais il est généralement recommandé de définir les 3 ou 4 profils les plus importants. Ils devraient, à eux seul, représenter plus de 90% de votre chiffre d’affaire généré.

Il s’agit de la première étape à réaliser pour réussir votre projet digital.

Avant même de penser à votre produit, son prix, votre site internet ou autre, vous devez savoir à qui vous voulez le vendre. À quelle personne s’adresser ? Quels sont ses besoins ? Ses peurs ? Ses freins ? Etc.

Bien étudier votre Persona vous donnera donc les informations clés pour concevoir une stratégie digitale bien ciblée et qui portera ses fruits.

Exemple d’une fiche de Persona. – Source : Freepik.com

Vos fiches Persona doivent continuellement vous accompagner dans les décisions de votre stratégie et de votre business plan.

2 – Définir des objectifs SMART

Une fois le profil de vos clients définis, vous devez fixer des objectifs précis. Pour cela nous vous recommandons d’utiliser la méthode SMART:  Spécifiques, Mesurables, Atteignables, Réalistes et définis dans le Temps.

Ces objectifs représentent les ambitions et attentes de votre entreprise concernant votre chiffre d’affaires, votre notoriété, votre image de marque, etc. Ce sont des critères mesurables qui doivent toujours être pensés pour votre clientèle idéale définit précédemment.

3 – Réaliser un parcours client digital précis et quantifié

Étudier le parcours de vos clients quand ils sont en interaction avec vos produits/services vous permettra de mieux les comprendre et de connaître leurs attentes.

Utiliser les outils marketing pour analyser le comportement de vos clients à chaque étape, depuis le premier contact jusqu’au dernier. Par exemple : le taux de rebond sur votre site web, les sujets qui fonctionnent le plus sur vos réseaux sociaux, vos pages de site les plus visitées, le nombre de prises de rendez-vous avec une page de vente, etc.

Ainsi, vous pouvez créer un parcours client digital conçu spécifiquement pour vos clients et qui répond exactement à leurs attentes. Ce parcours doit détailler toutes les étapes par lesquelles votre client doit passer et comment votre entreprise doit répondre à ses interactions.

Pour finir, c’est aussi important de quantifier chacune des étapes de votre parcours. Cela vous permettra d’approfondir vos analyses, de faire évoluer l’expérience digitale de votre produit/service et aussi de prioriser vos tâches et constater vos progrès réalisés.

4 – Soigner son e-réputation

L’e-réputation est votre identité numérique, les résultats que vos clients vont trouver en cherchant le nom de votre entreprise/marque ou produit/service sur Internet.

Le premier réflexe du consommateur aujourd’hui, avant d’acheter un produit, est de le chercher sur les moteurs de recherche ou sur les réseaux sociaux.

Dans ce cas, trois scénarios sont possibles :

  1. Vous n’existez pas sur la toile du net, il va donc chercher chez vos concurrents.
  2. Il trouve votre marque, mais votre réputation est mauvaise et cela le fait fuir.
  3. Il trouve votre entreprise, aime votre contenu, vous suit sur les réseaux et devient un client par la suite.

L’objectif est bien entendu de viser le troisième scénario et pour cela vous aurez besoin de travailler votre communication sur les réseaux sociaux, de construire un site web séduisant et efficace, et de faire attention aux avis laissés par vos clients.

5 – Travailler l’ergonomie et le Responsive

Mock-up du site de restauration Lima Empanadas sur ordinateur portable et smartphone
Exemple : le site marchand Lima Empanadas disponible sur toutes les tailles d’écran.

En 2021, 55,35 % du trafic mondial internet était en provenance d’appareils mobiles, contre  43 % pour les ordinateurs. Ce qui signifie qu’il n’est pas possible de négliger le mobile dans votre stratégie digitale.

En basant vos stratégies sur l’expérience client, vous comprenez que vous êtes dans l’obligation de faciliter la navigation de vos clients quel que soit l’outil qu’ils utilisent : un écran d’ordinateur, une tablette ou un mobile.

57% des consommateurs affirment ne pas vouloir recommander une entreprise qui a un site mal conçu. Nous vous conseillons donc de faire attention à l’architecture de votre site web, qu’il soit adaptable non seulement aux différents navigateurs, mais aussi aux différentes plateformes et tailles d’écrans. Il doit être ergonomique, fluide et simple de navigation.

Cela va aussi jouer un rôle important dans votre référencement, puisque les moteurs de recherche, apprécient particulièrement les sites adaptés à tous les écrans (responsive). Avec un site non responsive il sera compliqué d’être bien référencé et bien classé dans les résultats de recherche.

6 – Personnaliser vos produits/services

Une bonne étude de vos Personas, vous permet d’en savoir plus sur vos clients. Comprendre leurs besoins, leurs habitudes, leurs envies… vous permettra de concevoir des outils digitaux personnalisés. Toutes les données récoltées sur vos utilisateurs permettront ainsi cette personnalisation.

Par exemple, dans le cadre d’une épicerie en ligne, vous pourriez générer automatiquement une newsletter aux femmes de plus de 35 ans intéressées par les produits liés aux thés / infusions, et dont le contenu listera les derniers arrivages. Ou encore générer automatiquement un bon de réduction en date d’anniversaire de vos clients.

Un client, qui reçoit un produit ou un service personnalisé, se sent privilégié et s’attachera davantage à votre marque.

7 – Adopter le Selfcare

Aujourd’hui, nombreux sont les consommateurs qui apprécient l’autonomie procurée par les outils web et ils préfèrent trouver les informations par eux même sans devoir passer par un service client. Cela évite des temps d’attente parfois longs et permet de croiser les informations pour plus de fiabilité.

C’est aussi une bonne opportunité pour les entreprises, car cela leur permet de diminuer le coût de leur support clients et leur fait gagner du temps qu’elles peuvent consacrer à d’autres sujets.

Pour rendre cela possible, vous devez mettre à disposition de vos clients toutes les informations dont ils auront besoin et sur tous les canaux marketing que vous utilisez.

Vous pouvez par exemple ajouter une FAQ ou un Chatbot sur votre site ou votre application mobile. Il est aussi essentiel d’apporter de l’information sur vos autres espaces web : fiche Google My Business, page Facebook, compte Instagram…

Pour conclure

En cette fin d’année 2021, développer une stratégie digitale n’est plus une option. Si vous souhaitez rester fort sur votre marché et développer votre entreprise, vous avez tout intérêt à renforcer votre outils numériques pour répondre aux attentes de vos clients.

Pour une stratégie imbattable et fidéliser vos clients, vous devez prendre le temps de les comprendre, de connaitre leurs habitudes, leurs besoins et de définir des profils précis (vos personas). C’est de cette façon que vous pourrez concevoir des supports digitaux (boutique en ligne, campagne emailing, interface utilisateur…) utiles et efficaces.

Vous souhaitez digitaliser votre entreprise ? Discutons-en.